The genesis of higher education dates back to 1966 by opening a parallel of the Law Faculty of Prishtina and opening a branch of the Higher Pedagogical School of Prishtina in Gjilan a year later.

By a decision of the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology (MEST), on 9 September 2002, the Faculty of Education was founded with its center in Prishtina and its branches in Gjilan, Prizren and Gjakova. By constants demand of teachers , students , and Anamorava population in general and in the municipalities of Presheva Valley to open other programs and faculties in Gjilan, and prepare the establishment of a Public University in Gjilan , in the academic year 2010/2011, the Faculty of Economics and Faculty of Law started their work as branches of the University of Prishtina with a number of about 1500 students .

After consolidation of the educational process during these years , the University in Gjilan (UGJ) was founded by a decision of the Government of the Republic of Kosova on the Establishment of Public Universities, dated on 6 March 2013 , which was approved by theKosova Assembly on 31 May 2013.The University of Gjilan is located in the town of Gjilan, i.e. in the South-East Kosova, in the Anamorava Region . The function of the University of Gjilan was determined by the temporary Statute, which was approved by the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology (MEST ) of the Republic of Kosova.

The establishment of the Public University of Gjilan was an important event for the citizens of the Municipality of Gjilan, the Anamorava Region , and the Presheva Valley . According to the results of the population census conducted by the Statistics Agency of the Republic of Kosova in 2011, about 170,000 inhabitants live in Anamorava . While, in the Presheva Valley , which includes the municipalities of Presheva , Bujanoc and Medvegja, there live about 57,800 inhabitants of Albanian nationality. Consequently, the University of Gjilan has as its primary objective to attract potential students from these areas due to geographical proximity and lower living costs that Gjilan offers compared to Prishtina, the capital of the Republic of Kosova.

The Public University of Gjilan consists of four academic units:

  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Economics
  • Faculty of Computer Science
  • Faculty of Applied Sciences

The University faculties consist of departments as regards the teaching activity. All faculties offer full-time studies at the bachelor level in compliance with the provisions of the University Statute. The prospective of the PUGJ and its Rectorate is envisaged opening of new faculties in the near future.